Review of ‘How to Archer’ by Sterling Archer the world’s most awesome secret agent

I’m a massive fan of the ‘Archer’ TV show and I had some book vouchers to spend on Amazon so I figured I couldn’t go wrong with ‘How to Archer’. If I had spent actual money on this book it is possible I might not feel so kindly towards it but since it was a gift token and I am a fan of “Sterling Archer the greatest secret agent in the world” (you need to imagine the bit in quotations with a cod Russian accent) I have been kind on the book.

Although it is not a classic there was a solid rate of laughs throughout. My only complaint would be that the book seemed to taper off towards the second half. In particular the cocktail section was far too long and seemed to actually be there to beef up the word count just as the narrating ‘Archer’ kept joking.

Instead of the long cocktail section they could have just beefed up the section detailing Archer’s World fact book. This could have been achieved by including references by Archer about times he has had to travel to various different states and countries. They could have tied this in with the tv series by making it so that Archer is describing an episode but from his own warped viewpoint. This POV would of course be completely different to what we know actually happened.

A good book for fans of the show but a missed opportunity. This could have been a classic with a bit more effort.

3 thoughts on “Review of ‘How to Archer’ by Sterling Archer the world’s most awesome secret agent

  1. Very good blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there
    that I’m totally overwhelmed .. Any recommendations?

    Cheers!

    • Yeah, I’m really not the best person to ask about the technical side of things. http://doncharisma.org/ has some stuff about all that stuff and I would recommend checking his blog out. As for more general tips. Write regularly and be yourself unless you a boring arse in which case be someone friendly and interesting!

Leave a Reply

